This page showcases the numerous awards that AWIS-ND as a chapter and AWIS-ND members have won. 

Since there are so many members, if you are an AWIS-ND member who has won an award indicating your involvement in AWIS-ND, let us know! Email

Star Chapter Awards 

2014-2015, 2015-2016, 2016-2017, 2017-2018, 2020-2021, 2021-2022

The AWIS Star Chapter Award honors those chapters who have accomplished many of the key objectives outlined in the Strategic Plan. The award encourages chapters to perform specific activities designed to ensure that women in STEM fields are able to achieve their full potential.

Other Awards

National Institute of Justice Fellowship (2017)

"The NIJ is dedicated to improving knowledge and understanding of crime and justice issues through inform the decision-making of the criminal justice community to reduce crime and advance justice, particularly at the state and local levels." -Department of Justice 

Sarah Lum is a 2017 recipient for her project on "The Battling the Sexual Assault Kit Backlog as the AWIS-ND President.

Gertrude M. Cox Scholarship (2016)

"The Cox Scholarship sponsored by the ASA Committee on Women in Statistics and Caucus for Women in Statistics, was established in 1989 to encourage more women to enter statistically oriented professions." - American Statistical Association and Caucus for Women in Statistics.

Claire Bowen is the 2016 recipient as AWIS-ND President.

Sister Jean Lenz, O.S.F. Leadership Award (2014)

"The Sister Jean Lenz, O.S.F. Leadership Award annually honors a post-baccalaureate student who has displayed leadership in promoting a more diverse, inclusive campus community for students." - Sister Jean Lenz, O.S.F. Leadership Award.

Karen Antonio is the 2013-2014 recipient as AWIS-ND Vice President.