About Us

Founded in August 2012, the Association for Women in Science – Notre Dame Chapter (AWIS-ND) has become the most active graduate student group at the University of Notre Dame, organizing 25 activities in partnership with 11 other graduate student and university groups during the 2018-2019 academic year.

Last Updated: 8/31/2019

Our Mission Statement

"AWIS champions the interests of women in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics across all disciplines and employment sectors. Working for positive system transformation, AWIS strives to ensure that all women in these fields can achieve their full potential."

Our mission is to initiate, encourage, and engage women in STEM in a welcoming and supportive environment, creating a sense of belonging and providing opportunities for success.


Meet the AWIS-ND Officers

Meet AWIS-ND Officers 2019 - 2020

Dr. Rebecca Wingert Faculty Advisor since 2012

Email: rwingert@nd.edu

Dr. Rebecca Ann Wingert is an Associate Professor of Biological Sciences and Gallagher Family Professor of Stem Cell Research at the University of Notre Dame. Dr. Wingert received dual undergraduate degrees in Biology and English from Muhlenberg College in 1999, and subsequently earned her Ph.D. in Cellular and Developmental Biology from Harvard University in 2005. She worked as a Postdoctoral Fellow and Instructor at Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School until 2010, where she accrued further training in Genetics and Stem Cell Biology. Dr. Wingert came to Notre Dame in 2010 to start her independent research laboratory, where she teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in Stem Cell Biology, Stem Cell Aging, Development and Organ Regeneration.

At Notre Dame, the Wingert laboratory studies the mechanisms that direct kidney formation. They perform basic research to elucidate how nephrons, the functional unit of the kidney, are made during development and regenerate after injury using the zebrafish, Danio rerio. The long-term goals are to discover new biomedical interventions that can be used to treat or prevent kidney disease. To support these endeavors, Dr. Wingert received a Basil O’Connor Starter Scholar Award from the March of Dimes in 2011, which recognizes promising young investigators pursuing research that aims to understand and treat developmental defects in children. Research in the Wingert lab is also supported by several multi-year grants from the National Institutes of Health, including the Director’s New Innovator Award (2011-2016) to study the mechanisms of kidney regeneration, and a Research Project (R01) Award (2013-2018) to identify genetic models of kidney birth defects using zebrafish.

Rebecca Wingert

Danielle Geremia President

Email: dgeremia at nd dot edu

Danielle is a third year graduate student in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. Prior to attending Notre Dame, she received a B.S. in Chemistry from the University of Scranton in Pennsylvania. As senior member of the Serrano lab, her research involves studying potential inhibitors of amyloid aggregation using Two Dimensional Infrared Spectroscopy (2DIR), in hopes to find a drug for Alzheimer's disease. Danielle is passionate about encouraging younger audiences to get involved in science, as well as the importance that male allies play in fulfilling the mission of AWIS. In her free time, she enjoys playing trumpet with Notre Dame's University Band, and intramural softball with fellow graduate students.

Danielle Geremia

Jeff DuBose Vice President

Email: jdubose at nd dot edu
LinkedIn: Public Profile

Jeff is a third year graduate student in the Department of Chemistry, studying the interfacial electron transfer processes in perovskite nanomaterials under the direction of Dr. Prashant Kamat. He previously studied Material Science and Engineering at the University of Arizona. Jeff is excited about increasing the involvement of women in STEM, and hopes to increase engagement of other men who are advocates of women in sceince.

Jeff DuBose

Lindy Sherman Treasurer

Email: lsherma1 at nd dot edu
LinkedIn: Public Profile

Lindy is a third year graduate student in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. She graduated with a B.S. in chemistry and a B.S. in sociology from Iowa State University. She is currently working for Professor Jon Camden to expand the utility of surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy for analytical applications. Lindy is excited to serve the AWIS community, an organization which provides mentoring and leadership opportunities to women in STEM.

Lindy Sherman

Kayla Dempster Secretary

Email: kdempste at nd dot edu

LinkedIn: Public Profile

Kayla Dempster is a second year graduate student in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. She graduated from Madonna University with a B.S. in Biochemistry. She currently works in Jeff Peng's lab where her research concerns combating antibiotic resistance through the study of dynamic motions of beta-lactamase proteins using NMR spectroscopy. She is excited to be serving on the executive board for the upcoming school year to help promote the representation of women in science.

Kayla Dempster

Katie Morris Outreach Chair

Email: kmorri15 at nd dot edu

LinkedIn: Public Profile

Katie is a 3rd year in the Biological Sciences department studying Cancer Biology. She graduated from the University of Minnesota with her B.S. in Biochemistry. Her research in the laboratory of Dr. Kevin Vaughan focuses on discovering new treatments for pancreatic cancer that work through induction of cellular senescence. Katie's outreach interests with AWIS are centered around promoting science for everyone and getting kids interested in science at a young age. In her free time, she likes to embroider, do crafts, and hang out outside!

Kathryn Morris

Sam Sherman Professional Development Chair

Email: ssherma1 at nd dot edu
LinkedIn: Public Profile

Sam is a fourth year PhD student in the Department of Applied and Computational Mathematics and Statistics. She received her B.S. in mathematics from Fairfield University. Currently, Sam works for Dr. Jonathan Hauenstein on developing numerical methods to solve nonlinear equations arising in science and engineering. In her free time, Sam loves being outdoors and active.

Sam Sherman

Claire Nelmark Social Chair

Email: cnelmark at nd dot edu

Claire is a second year graduate student in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. She graduated with a B.A. in Chemistry and Applied Physics from the College of St. Benedict in Minnesota. Her research in the Serrano lab is currently focused on understanding protein dynamics in neurodegenerative diseases, such as ALS, and spectroscopic system development. Claire is excited to promote and support women in STEM of all ages

Claire Nelmark

Trenton W. Ford Social Media Chair

Email: tford5 at nd dot edu
LinkedIn: Public Profile

Trenton Ford is a third year PhD student in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering. He graduated from LSU with a B.S. in Computer Science with minors in both Mathmatics and Business Management.

Trenton W. Ford

Departmental Representatives 2019 - 2020

  • Engineering: Aubrey Jeffries
  • Chemistry and Biochemistry: Sarah Bliese
  • Biological Sciences: Marissa Andersen
  • ACMS: Renjun (Vicky) Zhu
  • Psychology: Claire Scott-Bacon

Meet AWIS-ND Officers 2018-2019

  • President: Madeline Smith
  • Vice President: Arielle Lopez
  • Treasurer: Lindy Sherman
  • Secretary: Danielle Geremia
  • Outreach Chair: Mauna Dasari
  • Professional Development Chair: Chissa Rivaldi
  • Social Chair: Tierney Miller
  • Social Media Chair: Jeff DuBose

Meet AWIS-ND Officers 2017-2018

Meet AWIS-ND Officers 2016-2017

Meet AWIS-ND Officers 2015 - 2016

Meet AWIS-ND Officers 2014 - 2015

Meet AWIS-ND Officers 2013 - 2014

Meet AWIS-ND Officers 2012 - 2013

Meet AWIS-ND Founding Committee

Stephanie Lyons, MacKenzie Warren, Melissa Davidson, and Katie Grayshan